Page 1 of 1

Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm
by plbrunet
Hi there,

The title says it all. Being able to send and receive Timecode over Dante would be very useful and great.

Hope you like it!

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:34 am
by Daniel Kaminski
I will change that Feature wish to a more general kind. I hope we can agree on that.
Timecode oder ASIO would be nice, why limit it to Dante.

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:35 am
by lucken
Hi Daniel,

Please add also Timecode over ArtNet!

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 10:44 am
by Daniel Kaminski
Timecode over Artnet.
I heared that it exists, but I have never seen any Product that supports it or meet anyone who uses it,
Can you tell me a little more about it and why and to which usecase it will be valuable.

Also which Products use it, so that I can plan testing in case the decision is made to implement it.

Daniel

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:19 pm
by lucken
ChamSys lighting consoles can receive and retransmit timecode via ArtNet.

There is also a free software for testing: http://www.s-jaekel.de/software/downloa ... de_sender/

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:57 pm
by Daniel Kaminski
Are there any other products?
Has anyone actually used it? Trying to find out if it is just a Chamsys thing or if Timecode over Artnet has a bigger future.
It seams like nobody else has used it before or is missing it. I can see huge demand to extend ASIO Timecode Support and maybe even Midi Timecode.
Everybody I know or works with LTC or Midi Timecode. I will still put it on the list. Please keep me /us updated on all products that support it.
Is anyone else missing this? And if so, is LTC no option?

Daniel

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:36 pm
by lucken
I don't know that other products have it. But it is very handy because:
- lighting console controls Mediaserver via ArtNet
- same connection can be used for Timecode
- so no extra audio cable and no extra interfaces on both sides

This is another product using it: https://timelord-mtc.com/

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:57 pm
by Justyn Roy
I couldn't see anyone actually using timecode over artnet with this console when you can just use LTC and / or trigger the timeline with cues.

I don't believe that there is anyone else planning to implement this either. (MA, Martin, etc...) because they all support either LTC or Midi timecode or both.

Re: Timecode over Dante

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:08 pm
by introdans
support for MTC (midi time code) will be better i think, because a lot of ASIO devices also support MIDI.