Advice for projection on building facade

Warper & Mapping related questions

Moderator: Moderator Group

Advice for projection on building facade

Postby ppfer » Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:18 pm

Hi. I was hired to project on a building facade and also to produce some 2D content.
I'm quite new to this. The facade is not very complex, quite small and architectural elements are relatively flat but - for various reasons - the projector will be placed with the lens aligned to the top of the facade so I will need to use lens shift and - probably - slightly distort.
I need an advice on how to take a reference picture for content production to achieve the best result once in PB warper.
I should take the picture from the projector point of view (which will produce a quite distorted image since it's taken from top to bottom) and work on a distorted reference or - as I guess - it's better to take it from the viewer's point of view which is likely to produce a more flat image and then correct the distortion in PB warper?
ppfer

Re: Advice for projection on building facade

Postby claude.rivet » Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:40 pm

I will try to answer as best as I can given the provided infos but here goes:

-first working with pictures is kinda tricky but it can do the trick, the problem lies in both the geometric distortion of the lens and in the perspective distortion of the focal lenght characteristic of the camera versus those of the lens of your projector. If you want to work with pictures I very highly suggest also taking some measurement of key points in your façade. Once you know the wall is 30 feet high by 20 feet wide and that the first window bottom center is at 8 feet from the ground and at 10 feet from the side and so on and so forth it is easy to correct the image and then work on it to produce content.