Page 1 of 1

Timcode to Layer

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:15 pm
by stda_video
Hi all,


is there any way to route a Timecode (from widget oder SMPTE-Link) visually to a layer or "Live-Text-Input"?
ยด
This would be really helpful in many theaters for the stage-managers.


Thanks alot and best regards
Johannes

Re: Timcode to Layer

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:27 pm
by Justyn Roy
If you've got a WD license and can use Nodes:

Use a SMPTE Link Node to get the information from the SMPTE-Link.

Connect this to a PB Text Node.

Create a Text Input Asset in Pandoras Box.

You're off to the races.


If you need the SMPTE Link to also control a Sequence in Pandoras Box, you'll need to do it differently.
The SMPTE Link can only be connected to one program at a time.

If this is the case, use the PC-Seq-TC Node.
This will bring the Time Code in from a running sequence in the same way.

You can then put this to a Text Input Node again.


Let me know if you've got any other questions.

Re: Timcode to Layer

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 3:43 pm
by stda_video
Thanks for your reply.

It works great if i get the timecode from the smpte interface, smoothly running, played out at our server.
If i do the same with the Manager Seq Run Time, the played out picture on the server is blinking and not running as smoothly as from the smpte-source. This is a bit strange..

And, if i set the Manager AND the WD to receive TC, it works with both fine at the same time.
The "blinking/stutter" issue is still there, also if i use the smpte-interface for just one app, WD oder Manager.


best