Blackout LED Wall

Christie Pandoras Box Version 6 - Q&A

Moderator: Moderator Group

Forum rules
When asking make sure to include the operating system and the revision of Pandoras Box you are using. If your question is related to hardware, please state if you are using coolux hardware (which one) or if you built your own.

Blackout LED Wall

Postby brun sweater » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:14 pm

Hello all.

Simple question. How to make blackout with a LED wall?

The screen will blackout if I'm not sending anything to the controller. So, how to shut down the output completely on the Dual Player feeding the controller? It's the last cue, so no need to immediately hook the output up to the controller after the blackout.

The Dual Player is Client, and a Manager is Master at FOH. Both machines running Windows 8.1


Cheers :-)
brun sweater
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:19 am

Re: Blackout LED Wall

Postby Daniel Kaminski » Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:41 am

Not sure if I understand the question.
You want to send a Blackout to one of the outputs. There are multiple ways.
a) you can bring the Opacity of the output down to 0.
b) you can bring all Layers that are routet to the output down to 0.
c) put a black Image on your TopMost Layer an bring it to Full.

I hope this helps. If I missunderstood you please try to explain again.

Daniel
--
Daniel Kaminski
Pandras Box Expert
User avatar
Daniel Kaminski
 
Posts: 908
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Herten, Germany

Re: Blackout LED Wall

Postby brun sweater » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:36 pm

Thanks for replying :-)

What I'm trying to achieve, is similar to what you achieve when using a mechanical shutter on a projector. Even when sending black, or setting the opacity to zero on the output, some light will still be emitted. The workaround I have at the moment, is to have a person turning off the power to the LED tiles on cue, and it's working fine. I wonder though, if there's a way to kill the output completely on the Client? I've tried to shut down the Client via the remote software, but that gives me a blue screen for a brief moment.

Cheers :-)

edit: Another workaround could be to remove the SDI cable manually from the LED controller.
brun sweater
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:19 am

Re: Blackout LED Wall

Postby Daniel Kaminski » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:31 pm

Hi,
no there is no way of removing an output completely.
But it sounds a little bit to me like you are having some other problem.
If you send black on your Output, no light of the LED Wall should be emitted.

It sounds like you are having a 16-235 vs 0-255 Range Problem.
Check if you GPU is on "limited Color Range" or so. This happens a lot to HDMI Outputs or Converters.
Sometimes it is a setting in the LED Wall Controller.

Daniel
--
Daniel Kaminski
Pandras Box Expert
User avatar
Daniel Kaminski
 
Posts: 908
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Herten, Germany

Re: Blackout LED Wall

Postby brun sweater » Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:33 pm

Thanks a lot!

That did the trick. The color range was indeed set to limited on the Dual Player Output.

Again, thank you. It's much appreciated :-)

Cheers
brun sweater
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:19 am


Return to Pandoras Box V6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron