PosiStageNet/Streaming data

Christie Widget Designer Version 6 - Q&A

Moderator: Moderator Group

Forum rules
When asking make sure to include the operating system and the revision of Widget Designer you are using.

PosiStageNet/Streaming data

Postby maccalder » Sun Dec 25, 2016 5:19 am

I have an XY Panel which is giving me data scaled 0-100 in both X and Y (flexible on the actual scale).

I need to get this data into a grandMA2 - with other parameter control I am using on click events combined with text combiners to string together telnet commands for the MA (fixture 1; attribute "colorrgb1" AT 20; attribute "colorrgb2" AT 12; attribute "colorrgb3" AT 17;[CR] for example) - which works fine as I am jumping discrete values - with focusing / x.y control I need to do it in as close to real time as possible. I can use a timer to auto-refresh a script (which gets close) however it is hardly fast - and It strikes me that there is already some facility for this already, with the PSN server... So the question - excepting optitrack is there a way I can inject data directly into the PSN server? Alternatively is there a way to trigger an event every time the values change on an XYPanel?

The other option I have (which I really don't want to use) is making a set of arrow keys and sending incremental commands for each button press... but that is really clunky.

Any help would be much appreciated.
WD PC: Xeon E3-1225 @ 3.3GHz, 8gb RAM, Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB, WD6 Unlimited 4242-RC
PB PC: Xeon E3-1220 @ 3.5GHz, 8gb RAM,Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4G, Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB
maccalder
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: PosiStageNet/Streaming data

Postby Dennis Kuypers » Mon Dec 26, 2016 10:48 pm

Hello,

streaming data can be sent through the node system. A TCP Output Node could also send telnet commands. I would prefer using Art-Net or sACN instead, though.

Regards
Dennis
Dennis Kuypers
Product Developer, Software

Online Manual
User avatar
Dennis Kuypers
coolux Germany
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: PosiStageNet/Streaming data

Postby Daniel Kaminski » Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:55 am

What exactly are you trying to accomplish.
Please give us more background about why you need this.
What are you trying to track?
--
Daniel Kaminski

Technical Support + Betatesting
User avatar
Daniel Kaminski
 
Posts: 824
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Herten, Germany

Re: PosiStageNet/Streaming data

Postby maccalder » Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:27 am

I am not really trying to track so much as re-focus positions on a couple of moving lights.

Down the track I would like to put in OptiTrack however for the short term...

Whilst I could merge art-net or sACN... I am already doing lighting playback from an MA onPC system... adding an art-net merge would potentially over-complicate it.

Essentially what I am putting together is an immersive sales presentation - lead by a salesman with an ipad. So it needs to be push button simple. As a part of the setup, there will be 2 or 3 position presets for the pre-programmed show that they will need to update.

I did get the TCP Streaming node to do what I want... It just sends a fair bit of network traffic as MA's network syntax is designed for human readability not command efficiency. I was hoping that there was a direct way to inject into the existing PSN server so that I could design it once and then if we go down the optitrack route later, roll it out really easily and also keep the network traffic down as much as possible.

Should have mentioned: WD Unlimited 6 rev 4242; Windows 10 64bit
WD PC: Xeon E3-1225 @ 3.3GHz, 8gb RAM, Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB, WD6 Unlimited 4242-RC
PB PC: Xeon E3-1220 @ 3.5GHz, 8gb RAM,Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050 Ti OC 4G, Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB
maccalder
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:22 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Widget Designer V6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests