Run on system start

Christie Widget Designer Version 6 - Q&A

Moderator: Moderator Group

Forum rules
When asking make sure to include the operating system and the revision of Widget Designer you are using.

Run on system start

Postby sune » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:31 am

Hi
I can not get wd6 to start with system.
1. You can not select wd6 in PB WidgetDesigner button
2. If you made a custom start and point to wd6, wd says there is no dongle.
3. If you enable Run on system start in WD / Project Settings, it does not work either

Hardware: Compack Station
System Windows 8
WD 6 rev6105
Menu Rev271
Sune Munk Schou
Lighting- and Video Technician
tlf: +45 31 58 54 41
mail: sune@stouenborg.dk
web: stouenborg.dk
User avatar
sune
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:16 am
Location: Danmark

Re: Run on system start

Postby AViefhues » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:59 am

Hi,

I had the same problems wit WD V6 and the Menu.

You have to use the custom starts, but if you use the explorer to select the WD free Edition, the menu save the path that is stored in the link instead of starting the link itself where the needed parameters are stored in.
If you copy the path an filename manually inside the custom start everything works fine.

In my case this is the right path:
C:\Users\Alex\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Widget Designer 6.0 Rev 6105\WD 6.0 Rev 6105

hope that helps
User avatar
AViefhues
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:28 pm
Location: Gelsenkirchen

Re: Run on system start

Postby Dennis Kuypers » Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:56 pm

Hi,

The next PB Menu will allow you to start WD6 ;)

Regards
Dennis
Dennis Kuypers
Product Developer, Software

Online Manual
User avatar
Dennis Kuypers
coolux Germany
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: Run on system start

Postby Justyn Roy » Sat Jun 10, 2017 2:12 am

You can change the root directory for WD

Navigate to C:\Program Files\Christie

Don't select WD folder, only select the "Christie" folder.


The new version(s) of V6 will show up like V4 did.

You can now select the different versions inside of the configuration for the Widget Designer in the PB Menu.

Let me know if this works for you or not,

Justyn
User avatar
Justyn Roy
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:26 am

Re: Run on system start

Postby Dennis Kuypers » Sun Jun 11, 2017 10:57 am

Hi,

WD 4 and WD 6 use different start arguments. So it doesn't work for all versions.

Widget V4 uses the arguments "ViewerMode", "STARTWDS", "STARTWDP" and "STARTWDU"
Widget V6 uses the arguments "STARTWDV", "STARTWDF", "STARTWD", "STARTWDU"

So you should be fine starting Ultimate versions, others may either start a lower version than you expect or inform you with the "you tried to start a version that you have no license for" and then downgrade

There will be a new PB Menu very soon (for Win 8.1)

Dennis
Dennis Kuypers
Product Developer, Software

Online Manual
User avatar
Dennis Kuypers
coolux Germany
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: Run on system start

Postby Dennis Kuypers » Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:35 am

Here we go: viewtopic.php?f=111&t=4309

Dennis
Dennis Kuypers
Product Developer, Software

Online Manual
User avatar
Dennis Kuypers
coolux Germany
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:18 pm


Return to Widget Designer V6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron