Windows 10

This forum is for feature requests. Please report bugs to the support team instead.

Moderator: Moderator Group

Windows 10

Postby malkuth23 » Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:36 pm

It is getting hard to get high-end laptops that can be downgraded to Windows 8.1

So, I have to ask...

Are you guys working towards a Windows 10 approved version? Are there documented issues with Windows 10? Has anyone unofficially found any issues with using Windows 10 + PB or WD?

Thanks!
Matthew Newman-Saul
Theatrical Concepts
mattns@theatrical.com
User avatar
malkuth23
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Ventura, CA

Re: Windows 10

Postby Daniel Kaminski » Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:27 pm

HI,
regarding PB there are a couple of issues left. Some of them even out of our control, but they are worked on.

Most issues do not affect Manager Users at all. ( I have run several shows on Windows 10 Pro with my laptop without any issue).
Player Users on the other hand are still affected, not always, but there are several setups in which they for sure are.

PB Tools should work fine since 2nd PB V6 Release, but are not all fully tested under Windows 10.

So the Answer is, yes there are still some issues and until they are resolved we will obviously not officially support Windows 10, but most Manager and Player Users will not have any issues.
If you still decide to use Windows 10 and run into problems, please report them, but do not blame us and please please do not start testing when you are on the job, test it at the warehouse, so that you can change your OS if it does not work.

Daniel
--
Daniel Kaminski

Technical Support + Betatesting
User avatar
Daniel Kaminski
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Herten, Germany

Re: Windows 10

Postby malkuth23 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:17 am

Totally understand the support issue etc.

Apparently Kaby Lake processors are no longer receiving Windows 8.1 updates, so that means to buy a new laptop pretty means I have to buy an out of date model or deal with Windows 10...
http://www.pcworld.com/article/3189990/ ... dates.html

Apparently there is a hack work-around to receive updates, but as these things go, it is not something I am totally comfortable relying on.
https://www.extremetech.com/computing/2 ... lake-ryzen

I know you guys mostly use Xeon processors, but it seems Microsoft is pushing us very hard into Windows 10.

Thanks for the honest appraisal though!
Matthew Newman-Saul
Theatrical Concepts
mattns@theatrical.com
User avatar
malkuth23
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Ventura, CA

Re: Windows 10

Postby jaykoller » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:23 am

Another vote for this as soon as can be accomplished. As the OP stated it is getting difficult to get new hardware without Windows 10.

Thanks for the assessment. Can you elaborate on what issues "might" be encountered?
jaykoller
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Re: Windows 10

Postby clyne » Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:09 pm

Hello,

I've been playing around with PB on Windows 10. Mostly as I bought a new laptop with the intent of dual booting win8.1/win10 for PB/Work.
Unfortunately, I could not get many drivers to work on win8.1 (specifically nvidia, as it required intel's drivers first which would not install on win 8.1).

Anyway, one issue I have encountered is the PB Menu's Remote button does not work (PB Menu 6.0.14).

Window's log error general message is:
Code: Select all
Fault bucket 129471472294, type 5
Event Name: CLR20r3
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: pb remote.exe
P2: 1.0.0.0
P3: 58f737d1
P4: PB Remote
P5: 1.0.0.0
P6: 58f737d1
P7: 2d
P8: c6
P9: System.InvalidOperationException
P10:

Attached files:
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB5F4.tmp.mdmp
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB672.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB683.tmp.csv
\\?\C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WERB684.tmp.txt

These files may be available here:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_pb remote.exe_a5687b8b1df8638714d2f0e4b3de49cd916142_00000000_1bf6ba0b
********** Attached below

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report ID: 3174b77d-8540-4ba8-a5e3-ab26a03340bd
Report Status: 268435456
Hashed bucket: bf524e2603b645bc177a2472a906ef03

Report.zip


Interestingly, the PB VNC Remote that can be downloaded separately (Rev 118) worls fine, however this is an older revision from the one that is included in PB Menu.

This may not be exclusively a Win10 issue, as I've only just update my machines to V6
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
clyne
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 11:02 pm


Return to Feature Wishlist V6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest