HAP Codec on a machine with PB

Christie Pandoras Box Version 5

Moderator: Moderator Group

HAP Codec on a machine with PB

Postby cyeary » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:53 pm

So I am in the process of switching my main production travel machine over to a PC and ditching the mac for most things. I know that in the past there have been talks about not installing HAP on a machine where PB is used because a video will play thru the QT portion then instead of from the internal decoder. Is this still the case? Or am I totally mistaken about this?
Cameron Yeary
Unlimited Visibility, Inc.
cyeary
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:14 pm
Location: NYC

Re: HAP Codec on a machine with PB

Postby malkuth23 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:07 pm

From what I understand, this is still an issue and one that is pretty annoying.

--Please put HAP encoding into the inline encoder!!
Matthew Newman-Saul
Theatrical Concepts
mattns@theatrical.com
User avatar
malkuth23
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Ventura, CA

Re: HAP Codec on a machine with PB

Postby cyeary » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:17 pm

That part does not bother me. What I do not want is for my new machine where i am working on encoding media and makign content in AFX to effect what I am doing in PB programming. This is for my studio.
Cameron Yeary
Unlimited Visibility, Inc.
cyeary
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:14 pm
Location: NYC

Re: HAP Codec on a machine with PB

Postby malkuth23 » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:47 pm

From what I understand, it will.

If HAP codec is installed on the machine, then PB will default to using the codec rather than the internal integration of HAP.

You can't encode and (properly) playback HAP on the same machine.
Matthew Newman-Saul
Theatrical Concepts
mattns@theatrical.com
User avatar
malkuth23
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Ventura, CA

Re: HAP Codec on a machine with PB

Postby cyeary » Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:51 pm

Yea that part sucks. Is thre a workaround? What if Quicktime is not installed on the computer? Is that a hack?
Cameron Yeary
Unlimited Visibility, Inc.
cyeary
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:14 pm
Location: NYC


Return to Pandoras Box V5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests