Timecode over Dante

Christie Pandoras Box Version 5

Moderator: Moderator Group

Timecode over Dante

Postby plbrunet » Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:21 pm

Hi everyone,

Is it possible to send or receive LTC Timecode over Dante?
My guess is no... but please tell me I'm wrong :P
That could be very useful and certainly would be useful right now for a project I'm working on.

We have to carry Timecode signal through an existing network and Dante infrastructure over long distances so being able to do so via Dante would be ideal.
It's more flexible and requires no extra hardware.

So, it is doable?
Pierre-Luc Brunet
Audio - Video - Show Control
http://plbrunet.com
https://ca.linkedin.com/in/pierrelucbrunet
User avatar
plbrunet
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:49 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada

Re: Timecode over Dante

Postby Daniel Kaminski » Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:26 am

Send and recieve from where to do what is the question.

With Pandoras Box:
I have done a lot of projects where we used on of the ASIO Tracks to send out Timecode on a ASIO Card. This card can be a Dante Card or even a Dante Virtual Sound card.
All you have to do is create Timecode Wav files and put them on the timeline. Done.

If you want to recieve Timecode you will have to use the SMPTE Link to get the Timecode so Pandoras Box can unserstand it. You you want you can distribute it over Dante, but it has to be converted to Analog and then connected to a SMTPE Link.

Widget Designer:
Only SMTPE Link.

Daniel
--
Daniel Kaminski

Technical Support + Betatesting
User avatar
Daniel Kaminski
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Herten, Germany

Re: Timecode over Dante

Postby plbrunet » Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:44 am

Hi Daniel,

To send out Timecode out of Pandoras box via ASIO tracks, that's a good suggestion. I've done this sort of setup with other systems many times also but I didn't think about it as a solution within Pandoras Box.

In this case, in an ideal world we would receive timecode via Dante directly into Pandoras Box. Since that's not possible, I am looking into the price and availability of the Timecode USB device around here but I doubt we'll end up going this route. But I would certainly add this one to the wish list. Send and Receive Timecode over Dante in both Pandoras Box and WD.

With Widget, if it receives Timecode from an SMPTE link, can it then redistribute it to 2 managers at the same time?

Thank you.
Pierre-Luc Brunet
Audio - Video - Show Control
http://plbrunet.com
https://ca.linkedin.com/in/pierrelucbrunet
User avatar
plbrunet
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:49 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada


Return to Pandoras Box V5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests