Replace Video Card - Quad Server Pro Rev2

Christie Pandoras Box Version 5

Moderator: Moderator Group

Replace Video Card - Quad Server Pro Rev2

Postby pshay » Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:16 pm

Looks like our Quad Server Pro has a bad video card - It's long out of warranty and I cannot find the same video card in stock anywhere. Is there a list of compatible cards that I could use for finding one that is still available somewhere?
pshay
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: Replace Video Card - Quad Server Pro Rev2

Postby Dennis Kuypers » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:25 am

Hello,

You have a quad server with a DVI Processor. Any GPU with two DVI outputs should do. I recommend one of the latest Nvidia Geforce cards with two DVI outputs.

Regards
Dennis
Dennis Kuypers
Product Developer, Software

Online Manual
User avatar
Dennis Kuypers
coolux Germany
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: Replace Video Card - Quad Server Pro Rev2

Postby frozenwaffles » Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:54 am

I have the same issue. i would like to put in a Quadro M4000 card i have spare. This requires a new operating system, no Windows XP drivers.
How do i upgrade the Server to run Windows 8.1?
Jeremy Koch
Sydney, Australia
Innovative Production Services - http://www.innovative.net.au
Server LT, Manager STD, Widget Designer PRO, Airscan
User avatar
frozenwaffles
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:17 am

Re: Replace Video Card - Quad Server Pro Rev2

Postby Thomas Mrozek » Fri Jun 09, 2017 10:01 am

Hi,
as your server is not in warranty any more you can of course put your own graphics card in.

You also can update the OS. Knowlegde of setting up OS correctly is strongly recommended!

We also provide hard- and software updates from christie. Please contact your christie sales partner for more information.

Regards
Thomas
Thomas Mrozek
Technical Support Engineer
User avatar
Thomas Mrozek
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:08 am

Re: Replace Video Card - Quad Server Pro Rev2

Postby schoissi » Sat Jun 10, 2017 4:35 pm

@ Jeremy
you can update or re-install your server just like a regular pc.
but i would check with coolux thru their support about the dongle/license.

best,
Roman
schoissi
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:48 pm
Location: Seattle, USA

Re: Replace Video Card - Quad Server Pro Rev2

Postby frozenwaffles » Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:54 am

hi, yes i have updated my server V4R2 with a new M4000 graphics card, upped the RAM to 24GB and put an SSD for the OS and temporary HDDs for content. i want to put in an intel 750 PCIe storage card to really make it sing along!
the update to 8.1 was fun...had to start with 8 and then go to 8.1 since my license key would only work on a fresh 8 install, not 8.1.
drivers was all pretty easy...windows just seemed to load them all itself.
i would like to see a proper setup check list of all things to do/configure to make the server as 'factory' as possible.
compared to how the old beast used to be, its like a new server! boots so fast and goes into client mode so fast!

now i just need to update to v6 and get 4 outputs :)
Jeremy Koch
Sydney, Australia
Innovative Production Services - http://www.innovative.net.au
Server LT, Manager STD, Widget Designer PRO, Airscan
User avatar
frozenwaffles
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:17 am


Return to Pandoras Box V5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest