Measurement from Airscan

Moderator: Moderator Group

Measurement from Airscan

Postby JustynR » Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:04 am

I haven't tried this yet...
But I have a show coming up where I have a projection screen (actually a cylander) that moves up and down using what I believe is an older automation system that doesn't give read outs (or not any I can get).

Is there a way I can mount the Airscan to the truss and use this for a readout for the position of the truss?
I am not sure if I could use points to do this reliably...

Does anyone have any ideas or experience doing this?


Thanks,
Justyn Roy
Field Application Specialist
Christie Digital
Toronto Ontario Canada
JustynR
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Measurement from Airscan

Postby Mike Steinbrecher » Tue Jul 15, 2014 1:53 pm

Hello Justin,

could you mount the Airscan 90 degress to the Truss and then you will see the Truss in the Airscan coming closer or moving away?
Then you should be able to follow the Truss.

Do you have a Airscan and it just makes sence to use it?
If you have to buy it there might be a cheaper solution with Encoders !

BEst regards

Mike
---------------------------------------------
Mike Steinbrecher
Technical Sales Manager
Meister für Veranstaltungstechnik

Christie Digital Systems | http://www.christiedigital.com| Richard-Byrd-Strasse 19 | 50829 Koeln | Germany
User avatar
Mike Steinbrecher
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Cologne - Germany

Re: Measurement from Airscan

Postby JustynR » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:13 pm

I have an Airscan that is sitting on a shelf not being used while this show is happening.

I would have to buy encoders and the Sensor Link and crack a motor open to attach them to make it work...

I was hoping to just be able to mount the Airscan to make it work.

I was planning on having it on the truss that is moving as the stage and truss is round and there is audience all around it. I know I can see the floor move closer and further, but how do I take that information into WD to process?

Justyn
Justyn Roy
Field Application Specialist
Christie Digital
Toronto Ontario Canada
JustynR
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:33 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Measurement from Airscan

Postby Mike Steinbrecher » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:17 pm

HI Justin,

thats why I would turn it around and mount the Airscan Fix. Then the Truss will apear in your Airscan like arm !
And you can trigger that "point" comming in your Airscan view.

Mounting the Airscan on the truss and moving it will not work. I have no idea how the Airscan should track the floor coming closer or moving away !

Best regards

Mike
---------------------------------------------
Mike Steinbrecher
Technical Sales Manager
Meister für Veranstaltungstechnik

Christie Digital Systems | http://www.christiedigital.com| Richard-Byrd-Strasse 19 | 50829 Koeln | Germany
User avatar
Mike Steinbrecher
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Cologne - Germany


Return to Widget Designer V4.7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests