Page 1 of 1

How do I disable a control?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:04 am
by ericseipel
To the point, is there a way to disable a control such as a custom script button or a fader? I know about Hide ie WDControlHide,Fader1, and it is effective at not allowing changes, but it is ineffectual in relaying what the current toggle is, or what the fader position is in the moment, while I don’t want a user interacting with them.

I can provide a more detailed explanation of the why if you think that would help.


Thanks for any insight.
Eric

Re: How do I disable a control?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 8:10 am
by malkuth23
I probably need a better description of what you are looking for.
Not sure what you need exactly.

Re: How do I disable a control?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 8:35 am
by Benni_M
You can make a Fader Input Node and a Device Control Output Node and Enable or Disable the Output Node.

Greets,
Benni

Re: How do I disable a control?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 12:58 pm
by Markus Zeppenfeld
Hi Eric,

there is no "official" way of preventing items from being used.
Thinking of custom script buttons, you could use an if-clause in order to check if you should be allowed to click or not.

I often build a "lock-variable" which is checked in order to find out if the command should be launched or not.

Cheers
Markus

Re: How do I disable a control?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 5:44 pm
by ericseipel
Markus Zeppenfeld wrote:Hi Eric,

there is no "official" way of preventing items from being used.
Thinking of custom script buttons, you could use an if-clause in order to check if you should be allowed to click or not.

I often build a "lock-variable" which is checked in order to find out if the command should be launched or not.

Cheers
Markus


That is my current solution.

Found myself in a sticky situation (Infinite loop) with a toggle. In the on click, if locked {do nothing, toggle the button back to previous state (for visual)}. and then it loops when it checks the on release with the same if check :) for the time being ill just hide the controls.

Background:
I like the projector node, but i like the idea of being able to have more detailed control of the pjs on a mobile. The christie M series has Art-net control, one of the channels locks all changes, and the other locks lens movement, additionally i have a bool that will be used to lock everything except shutter and freeze. I think the hide will be sufficient, then just stick a graphic with dummy buttons / faders behind for ascetics.

Thanks for your time and help.

Re: How do I disable a control?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 9:04 am
by Markus Zeppenfeld
Hi Eric,

there are different commands which execute the script while releasing or not. This way, you may not lock yourself into the loop.
Please keep in mind, that hiding controls does not apply for the web server.

Cheers
Markus