RS232 with Widget Designer [solved]

Moderator: Moderator Group

RS232 with Widget Designer [solved]

Postby edenoyer » Mon Sep 06, 2010 11:26 am

Hello,

I trying to command a videoprojector using Widget Designer and RS232 commands. I need to send C00[carriage Return] to switch off the VP.

First of all, I have used HyperTerminal and everything worked fine. So my COM Port and connexions are OK.

My question is : How to send a "carriage return" with PB ?
When I hit the "return" key on my keyboard, PB exits the serial command line.
When I try to send the hexa value for carriage return (using COMSendHex,'ID','0x0D'), Widget Designer shows "Commande received COMSendHex,'ID','0x0D'" but nothing happends on the videoprojector.

Any idea ?

Thanks in advance,

Emmanuel DENOYER
Last edited by edenoyer on Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edenoyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Besançon - France

Re: RS232 with Widget Designer

Postby Julia Foest » Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:48 pm

Hi Emmanuel,

to send a Carriage Return via PB you may send [h0D] or [CR].
So you can use this command: "TCPSend,'ID','your command'[CR]" or "TCPSend,'ID','your command'[h0D]".

Or if you want to send a full HEX-command:
"TCPSendHex,'ID','your command' 0D".

Please also have a look to Pandoras Box Help File that you can find when pressing F1 in Widget Designer.
There go to the search option and look for "SYNTAX TCP- / UDP- / SERIAL MESSAGES"

Example:
Use [d13] to enter one or multiple decimal values.
Use [h0D] to enter one or multiple hexadecimal values.
Use [CR] to enter ASCII symbols.

Mixed values are also possible:
[d13 h0D CR]Example String[CR].

Best regards,
Julia
User avatar
Julia Foest
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: RS232 with Widget Designer

Postby edenoyer » Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:32 pm

Thanks Julia,

I'll try that tomorrow.
edenoyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Besançon - France

Re: RS232 with Widget Designer

Postby edenoyer » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:08 am

Hello Julia,

I have tryed the command
COMSend,'1','C01'[CR]''

On Widget Designer, I can see
TCP Packet received:
COMSend,'1','C01'[CR]''


But nothing happends on my videoprojector.

My connection manager settings :
Serial Com Connections:
ID: 1, Name: COM, Port: COM3, (Baud: 19200, Parity: None, Data bits:8, Flow: None, as specifyed in the videoprojector handbook), Status: Started

What could be wrong ?

Best regards,

Emmanuel DENOYER
edenoyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Besançon - France

Re: RS232 with Widget Designer

Postby Julia Foest » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:13 pm

Hi,

please write the command like this (without the little ' and ")
COMSend,1,C01[CR]
or
COMSend,1,C01 [CR]

You send this command from a CustomScript Button?
You set up the connection to the projector in WD Tools, right?

But where did you see the message
TCP Packet received:
COMSend,'1','C01'[CR]''??

Best regards,
Julia
User avatar
Julia Foest
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: RS232 with Widget Designer

Postby edenoyer » Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:35 pm

The commands COMSend,3,C01[CR] and COMSend,3,C01 [CR] don't work :-(

I send the RS Commands from the timeline in the player.

I see the messages in WD > Tools > Remoting, in the "message log"

Yes, I set up the connection to the projector in WD Tools > Connection manager

What should I do ?
edenoyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Besançon - France

Re: RS232 with Widget Designer [solved]

Postby edenoyer » Tue Sep 07, 2010 2:44 pm

Wow! It works!

The right synthax is
(COMStart,1) to start the connection
(COMSend,1,C01[CR])
(COMStop,1) to stop the connection
The brackets have to be here.

1 is the connection ID (made with Widget Designer > Tools > Connection manager)
C01 is the command to send to the videoprojector (please look at the videoprojector documentation)
[CR] is the requested ASCII code to validate the command.

Thanks for your help.
Last edited by edenoyer on Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
edenoyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Besançon - France

Re: RS232 with Widget Designer [solved]

Postby Julia Foest » Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:25 pm

Hey Emmanuel,

that's fine!
I´m sorry, didn't know that you are sending this command to WDs Remoting Tool (for this all commands have to be inside brackets).

Best regards,
Julia
User avatar
Julia Foest
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany


Return to Widget Designer V4.7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests

cron