HTTP request

Christie Widget Designer Version 6 - Q&A

Moderator: Moderator Group

Forum rules
When asking make sure to include the operating system and the revision of Widget Designer you are using.

HTTP request

Postby videodsh » Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:14 pm

Hi,
I am trying to remote control an raspberry pi running PocketVJ.
I am trying with an http request.
I can reach the pi’s Webserver and remotely start and stop playback.
However it worked in WD 4.7, but is not working on 6.0.4
The command is:wdhttprequest(„http://pocketvj-100.local/?action=startseamless01“)

As far as I understand I don’t have to establish an tcp connection in the connection Manager, right?
In my network confit I did not enter a gateway address, as I don’t use one.
To me it seems like the request does not leave the WidgetDesigner

Any ideas, anyone?
videodsh
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: HTTP request

Postby Dennis Kuypers » Sun Jun 17, 2018 4:41 am

Hello,

does pocketvj-100.local resolve to an ip address on your machine? It's rather unusual for windows machines to resolve .local addresses. Try using the ip.

Regards
Dennis
Dennis Kuypers
Product Developer, Software

Online Manual
User avatar
Dennis Kuypers
coolux Germany
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:18 pm

Re: HTTP request

Postby videodsh » Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:30 am

Hey Dennis,
I tried both. A.local and the real IP address. Doesn’t work either.
Is there a way to control outgoing traffic from WD?
videodsh
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: HTTP request

Postby Benni_M » Sun Jun 17, 2018 4:29 pm

is the firewall on?

wd 4.7 goes thru but wd6 not.

best,
benni
Benni_M
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:45 pm

Re: HTTP request

Postby malkuth23 » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:18 pm

I am just trying to figure out how you made upside down quotation marks like that...

Make sure you don't have a bug in your code anywhere in the whole button or macro. The new way of compiling scripts have screwed me up a few times because I will have an error somewhere else in the programming that will cause the whole thing not to run. Old WD would just skip those lines, but new WD refuses the entire thing.
Matthew Newman-Saul
Theatrical Concepts
mattns@theatrical.com
User avatar
malkuth23
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Ventura, CA

Re: HTTP request

Postby videodsh » Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:15 am

Hey,

Thank you guys for helping.
The quotation marks are ok in my Project ( in german they are upsidedown at the beginning and I didn’t copy/paste directly from WD)
So spelling is ok, but is syntax as well?
No firewall enabled, BUT no gateway or DNS either.
Can that cause a problem?
videodsh
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 6:52 pm
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany


Return to Widget Designer V6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests