Lock a layer?

Christie Pandoras Box Version 8 - Q&A
Forum rules
When asking make sure to include the operating system and the revision of Pandoras Box you are using. If your question is related to hardware, please state if you are using coolux hardware (which one) or if you built your own.

Lock a layer?

Postby frozenwaffles » Wed Jul 13, 2022 6:31 am

Does anyone know if you can lock a layer from having any changes made to it at all? even password protecting it?
Jeremy Koch
Sydney, Australia
Innovative Production Services - http://www.innovative.net.au
Server QUAD R4.5 Hardware with Windows 10 1809 LTSC (P4000) - Running V8.6
Manager on hp ZBook 17 G4 - Running V8.6
Widget Designer - Running V6.5.5
Airscan
User avatar
frozenwaffles
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:17 am
Location: Sydney, Asutralia

Re: Lock a layer?

Postby Mike Mengen » Wed Jul 13, 2022 1:26 pm

Hi Jeremy,

there is no lock feature for a Layer.
The only thing you could do is hide the Layer.

Or you can lock the whole Interface with CTRL+Pause

Regards
Mike
User avatar
Mike Mengen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Lock a layer?

Postby frozenwaffles » Mon Jul 18, 2022 9:28 am

ok thanks. is this something we could get?
Jeremy Koch
Sydney, Australia
Innovative Production Services - http://www.innovative.net.au
Server QUAD R4.5 Hardware with Windows 10 1809 LTSC (P4000) - Running V8.6
Manager on hp ZBook 17 G4 - Running V8.6
Widget Designer - Running V6.5.5
Airscan
User avatar
frozenwaffles
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:17 am
Location: Sydney, Asutralia

Re: Lock a layer?

Postby Mike Mengen » Mon Jul 18, 2022 1:13 pm

Hi Jeremy,

I can add it to our Feature Wishlist.

What would be the usecase for you?
Blocking it for another Sequence?
Prevent people from changing any Parameters or removing containers from that layer?
Should external control for that Layer also be blocked?

Regards
Mike
User avatar
Mike Mengen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:50 pm

Re: Lock a layer?

Postby frozenwaffles » Wed Jul 27, 2022 7:37 am

well, the use case that has triggered this request is a project where all the blending and warping information is in the output layers and i have some masks in my last two layers as well.
i can easily hide all these layers/devices, but someone could still get in and mess things up.
i would love the peace of mind knowing that those important layers/cameras/outputs or whatever are locked away and can't be messed with.

now a few more things:
- password protection would be awesome.
- an external control lock would be great too. i can chose 'full lock/external lock/local lock' as options.
- there maybe more features for this, but i think this is fine for now.

thoughts?
Jeremy Koch
Sydney, Australia
Innovative Production Services - http://www.innovative.net.au
Server QUAD R4.5 Hardware with Windows 10 1809 LTSC (P4000) - Running V8.6
Manager on hp ZBook 17 G4 - Running V8.6
Widget Designer - Running V6.5.5
Airscan
User avatar
frozenwaffles
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:17 am
Location: Sydney, Asutralia


Return to Pandoras Box V8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest